Lanark Loch is a popular attraction all-year round with both locals and visitors thanks to its attractive surroundings. Nestled alongside the historic Lanark Golf Club, the area boasts several facilities including children’s activities*, pitch and putt golf*, a café in the summer* and lovely walks. It is a 20 acre man-made loch that was built in the early 19th century by architect Hugh Marr on the site of a small pond which was used by the local curling club. It then became the main water supply for Lanark and the surrounding area until 1881, when it was superseeded by Loch Lyoch on the slopes of Tinto.
The Loch is a popular centre for recreation, walking, jogging, picnicking, feeding the swans or simply relaxing in this lovely environment. The Inn on the Loch is also situated nearby and is a fully licensed restaurant and a music venue.
The toilets at the Inn on the Loch are also available for public use. Facilities operate between mid April and the end of September.
*These facilities are operated on a franchise basis. Opening times may vary and take into consideration recognised periods of demand, daylight hours and school holidays.
Walkers can visit the Loch as part of routes that also include Lanark Racecourse, The Beeches and onto New Lanark World Heritage Site.
Attractions nearby include the 'Spirit of Flight' Airshow Memorial, the Cameronian Memorial, Lanark Golf Club, Langloch Farm at CCI (Nature Trail, Tea Room & Barn Shop) and The Stables Bistro.
No booking required.
Designed & built by Mucky Puddle